iPhone OS 3.0 Mail Security Hole Revealed

A potential security hole in the iPhone OS 3.0 and 3.0.1 firmware has just surfaced via a YouTube video in which the host describes how, by searching for the title of a deleted message, the resulting screen displays two copies of the message; when either is selected for the first time, Mail crashes. According to MacNN, when the messages are selected a second time however, an iPhone will either display the original text, or a warning saying “This message cannot be displayed because of the way it is formatted.”

The copied message also warns that it is “only partially downloaded,” and presents a malfunctioning button to download the remaining part of the e-mail. The bug further displays opened messages in either the Deleted Messages folder or the Inbox as “1 of 0.”

The poster of the video says he suspects the device is reaching back to an e-mail server, but was able to disprove this by completely emptying his POP account. The bug is believed to be long-standing, as a result of finding e-mails deleted months ago:



Apple has yet to offer an official comment on this issue.

View the comments on the forum…